Canadian Agri Food Trade Alliance

Canada-ASEAN Free Trade Agreement

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional bloc in Southeast Asia comprised of Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. ASEAN is a major economic presence in Asia with a combined GDP of US$2.8 trillion and is projected to rank as the fourth largest economy by 2050 with a population of 643 million.

In 2017, Canada and ASEAN launched exploratory discussions to examine the potential for a Canada-ASEAN free trade agreement (FTA). Of ASEAN members, Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, and Vietnam are also signatories of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). An FTA with ASEAN would expand upon the access and gains of the CPTPP to include such major markets as Indonesia and Philippines, both major agri-food export markets for Canada. On September 1, Canada launched a public consultation period to hear from stakeholders regarding the potential FTA with ASEAN.

Canada-ASEAN Briefing Note: English